top of page

About Us

The mission of Western Iowa Power Cooperative is to enhance our members' quality of life by providing safe and reliable electric services.

Western Iowa Power Cooperative (WIPCO) is a non-profit, member-owned rural electric cooperative providing service to approximately 3,400 members in 9 area counties in west central Iowa. Our service territory covers 2,000 square miles and includes 2,100 miles of electric distribution lines.

On April 1, 1997 South Crawford Rural Electric Cooperative and Monona County Rural Electric Cooperative consolidated and incorporated to form Western Iowa Power Cooperative. Both RECs began providing electric service to rural areas in 1936.

WIPCO Territory Map

A board of directors, elected by the membership, governs the Cooperative. The Board meets monthly to set policies and review operations.


WIPCO purchases power from Northwest Iowa Power Cooperative (NIPCO), a generation and transmission cooperative located in Le Mars, Iowa. A reliable electric supplier and experienced employees have allowed Western Iowa Power Cooperative to remain stable and financially sound. Local ownership, local control, non-profit operation and cooperative – your Cooperative is something special – a unique way of doing business. Please use our Contact Us form or call our office at 712-263-2943 or toll-free at 800-253-5189 if you have questions.

A Touchstone Energy Cooperative®

Western Iowa Power Cooperative is a Touchstone Energy Cooperative®. Touchstone Energy is a national network of 700 electric cooperatives in 46 states that provides resources and leverages partnerships to help engage with member-owners. 

As a Touchstone Energy Cooperative, our core values consist of Integrity, Accountability, Innovation and Community.


Members first. Every day. That’s the power of membership. Not for-profit electric cooperatives deliver energy to members at the cost of service, this differs from investor-owned utilities that distribute profits to investors not necessarily to those it serves.


Electric co-ops belong to the members they serve. Decisions made benefit those in your community because co-op business is conducted through a locally elected board of directors who propose policies to be voted on by members.


Touchstone Energy® Cooperatives offer state-of-the-art technology to better serve members with cutting-edge programs. They help co-ops forge relationships with business members through educational events, web conferences and ongoing communications.


Touchstone Energy cooperatives work to improve the quality of life in their communities. They donate time, energy and resources to charities, schools and community events and take a leadership role in community development projects.

bottom of page